Exhaust Heat Recovery

Coordinator M.Sc. Daniel Seitz
Partner Daimler AG

 

 

Description

Shrinking energy resources and growing traffic volume increase the pressure to enhance the energy efficiency of vehicles. Especially for heavy duty vehicles used for long-distance transport, which contribute significantly to the total traffic volume and which still depend on internal combustion engines, small energy savings means a large overall benefit.

This brought up the desire to utilize the unused exhaust gas heat, which, in spite of modern diesel technologies, contains about 34% of the primary energy, and convert it into mechanical power. This can be fed back to the crankshaft or stored in a battery, using a generator, which improves the overall efficiency of the vehicle.

The conversion of heat into mechanical power is done economically with a heat engine (Rankine process). It contains of four processes (see fig. 1), where the exhaust gas heat is used to evaporate the working fluid at high pressure. The superheated vapor is then expanded in an expander which finally provides the mechanical power. Organic working fluids are especially appropriate for the temperature ranges in the vehicle, which is the reason for the name Organic Rankine Cycle (ORC).

ORC_en

                                   Fig. 1. Organic Rankine Process - Components.

TsDiagramm_eng

                                   Fig. 2. T-s-Diagram of the Rankine Process.

Since the efficiency of the conversion of heat into mechanical power is in general quite low, a maximum efficiency of the process is desirable. This requires an accurate control of the vapor quality at position 3 (see Fig. 1 and 2) with help of the feed pump. The great challenge lies in fact that the exhaust gas heat depends directly on the engine load, which is subject to large transients. In addition, the variable to be controlled must be kept within a small range. The transient operation of the heat engine distinguishes it from similar waste heat recovery applications in power engines which usually operates at steady state.

The main objective of the research project is the solution of this control problem and contains the following topics:

  • Mathematical modelling with parametric, physically motivated approaches (for easy interpretation and adaption to similar system configurations); for this the part feed pump - evaporator - expander is of special importance as here the transient heat input takes place
  • Parameter identification with measurement data
  • Validation
  • Simulation studies and model analysis
  • Application of model-based control methods
  • Implementation and test on the prototype system

 

Publications
Conference Papers
    • D. Seitz, O. Gehring, C. Bunz, M. Brunschier & O. Sawodny, “Design of a Nonlinear, Dynamic Feedforward Part for the Evaporator Control of an Organic Rankine Cycle in Heavy Duty Vehicles”, IFAC Symposium on Advances in Automotive Control, Norrköping, Sweden, 2016, doi:10.1016/j.ifacol.2016.08.091
    • D. Seitz, O. Gehring, C. Bunz, M. Brunschier & O. Sawodny, “Dynamic Model of a Multi-Evaporator Organic Rankine Cycle for Exhaust Heat Recovery in Automotive Applications”, IFAC Symposium on Mechatronic Systems, Loughborough, UK, 2016, doi:10.1016/j.ifacol.2016.10.508
    • D. Seitz, O. Gehring & O. Sawodny, “Modellbildung und Identifikation für ein Abgaswärmenutzungssystem in schweren Nutzfahrzeugen”, 7. VDI/VDE Fachtagung AUTOREG Auf dem Weg zum automatisierten Fahren, Baden-Baden, Germany, 2015

Abgaswärme-Nutzung

Bearbeiter M.Sc. Daniel Seitz
Projektpartner Daimler AG

 

 

Beschreibung

In Zeiten knapper werdender Ressourcen und steigendem Verkehrsaufkommen steigt der Druck zur Erhöhung der Energieeffizienz von Fahrzeugen. Insbesondere bei schweren Nutzfahrzeugen im Fernverkehr, welche einen großen Teil des Verkehrsvolumens ausmachen und zeitnah nicht auf den Verbrennungsmotor verzichten können, bringen kleine Energieeinsparmethoden einen großen Gesamtnutzen.

Daraus entstand der Wunsch, die ungenutzte Abgaswärme, die trotz moderner Dieseltechnologie immerhin ca. 34% der Primärenergie enthält, in nutzbare mechanische Leistung umzuwandeln. Diese kann zurück auf den Antriebsstrang geleitet oder mittels Generator in einer Batterie gespeichert werden, wodurch sich der Gesamtwirkungsgrad des Fahrzeugs verbessert.

Die Umwandlung von Wärme in nutzbare Leistung wird ökonomisch durch eine Wärme-Kraft-Maschine (Rankine-Kreisprozess) bewerkstelligt. Er besteht aus vier Komponenten (s. Abb. 1), wobei die Abgaswärme genutzt wird, um das Arbeitsfluid unter hohem Druck zu verdampfen. In diesem Zustand wird es in dem Expander entspannt, von dem die mechanische Leistung abgegriffen werden kann. Für das vorherrschende Temperaturniveau sind vor allem organische Arbeitsfluide geeignet, weshalb der Kreisprozess oft als Organic Rankine Cycle (ORC) bezeichnet wird.

ORC_en

                                   Abb. 1. Organic Rankine Process - Komponenten.

TsDiagramm_eng

                                   Abb. 2. T-s-Diagramm des Rankine-Kreisprozesses.

Da der Wirkungsgrad der Wärme-Kraft-Umwandlung ohnehin schon relativ niedrig ist, ist eine maximale Effizienz des Kreisprozesses erstrebenswert. Dazu muss die Dampfqualität am Zustandspunkt 3 (s. Abb. 1 und 2) präzise mithilfe der Speisepumpe geregelt werden. Die große Herausforderung besteht darin, dass die verfügbare Wärme des Abgases direkt von der Motorlast abhängt und daher sehr großen Änderungen unterworfen ist. Zudem soll die Regelgröße in möglichst engen Grenzen gehalten werden. Der transiente Betrieb der Wärme-Kraft-Maschine unterscheidet sie von ähnlichen Abwärmenutzungsanlagen in Kraftwerken, welche in der Regel stationär laufen.

Das Hauptziel des Forschungsprojekts ist die Lösung dieser Regelungsaufgabe und umfasst folgende Unterthemen:

  • Mathematische Modellierung durch parametrische, physikalisch motivierte Ansätze (zur Bewahrung der Interpretierbarkeit und der Möglichkeit zu Adaption auf ähnliche Systemkonfigurationen); dabei ist insbesondere die Dynamik des Teilabschnitts Pumpe-Verdampfer-Expander von zentraler Bedeutung, da hier der transiente Wärmeeintrag erfolgt
  • Parameteridentifikation mithilfe von Messdaten
  • Validierung
  • Simulationsstudien und Modellanalyse
  • Anwendung von modellbasierten Regelungsmethoden
  • Implementierung und Test auf dem Versuchsträger

 

Publikationen
Konferenzbeiträge
    • D. Seitz, O. Gehring, C. Bunz, M. Brunschier & O. Sawodny, “Design of a Nonlinear, Dynamic Feedforward Part for the Evaporator Control of an Organic Rankine Cycle in Heavy Duty Vehicles”, IFAC Symposium on Advances in Automotive Control, Norrköping, Sweden, 2016, doi:10.1016/j.ifacol.2016.08.091
    • D. Seitz, O. Gehring, C. Bunz, M. Brunschier & O. Sawodny, “Dynamic Model of a Multi-Evaporator Organic Rankine Cycle for Exhaust Heat Recovery in Automotive Applications”, IFAC Symposium on Mechatronic Systems, Loughborough, UK, 2016, doi:10.1016/j.ifacol.2016.10.508
    • D. Seitz, O. Gehring & O. Sawodny, “Modellbildung und Identifikation für ein Abgaswärmenutzungssystem in schweren Nutzfahrzeugen”, 7. VDI/VDE Fachtagung AUTOREG Auf dem Weg zum automatisierten Fahren, Baden-Baden, Germany, 2015